House Republicans elect Maycumber as Floor Leader

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

CONTACT: Brendon Wold, Deputy Communications Director | 360-786-7698

House Republicans elect Maycumber as Floor Leader

Rep. Jacquelin Maycumber was elected Floor Leader for Washington State House Republicans on Jan. 17.

The Floor Leader organizes and oversees caucus activity during debate on the House floor, responds to parliamentary questions and actions, and helps develop and deliver overall caucus messaging.

Maycumber, who is at the beginning of her second two-year term, said she is honored to be part of the House Republican leadership team.

“Being in an elected caucus leadership position means you've earned the trust of your peers to work on their behalf,” said Maycumber, R-Republic. “It's an honor I take seriously and I'm excited to help my colleagues as we bring forward solutions to the issues and problems facing our constituents around the state.”

In a rare feat, Maycumber joins her two legislative seatmates in elected senior leadership positions. Rep. Joel Kretz, R-Wauconda is Deputy Republican Leader, and Sen. Shelly Short, R-Addy, is also Floor Leader for Senate Republicans.

“Having all three legislators from the same legislative district in elected leadership positions speaks to the quality, work ethic and expectations of the people we represent back home,” said Maycumber. “They know we are going to work hard on their behalf, which is then recognized by our legislative colleagues in Olympia.”

The House Republican Leadership team for the 2019 session has been finalized and is as follows:

Leader – Rep. J.T. Wilcox, Yelm
Deputy Leader – Rep. Joel Kretz, Wauconda
Caucus Chair – Rep. Paul Harris, Vancouver
Vice-Caucus Chair – Rep. Gina Mosbrucker, Goldendale
Floor Leader – Rep. Jacquelin Maycumber, Republic
Assistant Floor Leader – Rep. Drew MacEwen, Union
Assistant Floor Leader – Rep. Morgan Irwin, Enumclaw
Whip – Rep. Dan Griffey, Allyn
Deputy Whip – Rep. Bill Jenkin, Prosser
Assistant Whip – Rep. Kelly Chambers, Puyallup
Assistant Whip – Rep. Jenny Graham, Spokane

The 105-day 2019 legislative session is scheduled to end April 28.


Washington State House Republican Communications